Four people with taper candles light chalice framed by two rings

Meet the Search Committee

Sep 10, 2020

Judy Kamm, Chair, has found a spiritual home at FPW since 1982. Her roles have included Trustee since 1987; Chair of the Ministry Committee for Rev. Mark Harris for more than a decade; Parish Committee member during our $400,000 heating system replacement project; and founder/coordinator of our annual art show since 2015.

Kyle Morton, Co-chair, has been a member of FPW since 2002 or so. Kyle and his wife Kelly have raised two children, Roane (19) and Gates (14), in the church. He served on the Parish Committee in the past and on the RE Committee presently. In addition to co-chair, Kyle will represent the Search Committee on the Negotiating Team.

Kate Hanson Plass has attended FPW since 2013, and became a member in 2015. She served on the Parish Committee (2017-2020), Fellowship Committee, led the Breeze Task Force, and currently serves on the Communications Committee. In 2015, she drafted the language of our covenant from the values and visions of the congregation; in 2019, she led the review of our congregation’s bylaws. Her two daughters (5 and 1) were dedicated at First Parish and are active in the RE program.

Ben Jerome has been a member of FPW for the last three years. During this time, he has been active in the religious education program, teaching Sunday classes; FPW Families of Color Affinity group; and the pledge drive as a personal caller as well as a circle supper facilitator.

Silke Plesch has been a member of FPW for 17 years. She has served on the Parish Committee for two years, led the Junior Youth group for one year, and was hired for a 6-month position as a Membership Coordinator in 2012. She has participated in small groups, the FPW Families of Color Affinity group, RE related activities, and led several lay services.

Beth Tappan-deFrees became a member in the spring of 1993. Beth and her wife Izzy were married here in 1997 (and again in 2004 when Equal Marriage became a reality in Massachusetts), and their son, Elijah was dedicated here in Feb 2000. Beth has served on the Growth and Membership Committees, the Finance Committee (chair), the Helen Robinson Wright Fund Distribution Committee (chair), the Personnel Committee (chair) and the Nominating Committee. She sings in the choir, has frequently led summer lay services, coordinates the annual Grow Clinic gift collection, and has taught all ages of RE, including in the Our Whole Lives faith-based sexuality education program.

Will Twombly, Search Treasurer, has been a member of First Parish for almost 40 years, raising his children with his wife Sue in the church. Will serves on the Helen Robinson Wright Fund Distribution Committee, the Safe Congregation Committee, and the Buildings and Grounds Committee. Will is active in the wider Watertown community, belonging to World in Watertown, Watertown Welcomes Immigrants, the Kingian Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and the Watertown Antibias Coalition, and serving on the Board of the Marshall Home Fund and Marshall Place Apartments.

Next, we are looking forward to hearing from you about your visions for the church and our ministry, through a congregational survey and cottage meetings. Members and friends will be receiving links via email shortly.

You can contact the Search Committee at or find the contact information for individual members in Breeze.

Search Committee
Website | + posts

The ministerial search committee is charged with finding the next settled minister of our congregation, to begin ministry in August 2021.  The committee members are Judy Kamm, Kyle Morton, Kate Hanson Plass, Ben Jerome, Silke Plesch, Beth Tappan-deFrees, and Will Twombly.

Related Posts: Search Committee