The Parish Committee continued to be active throughout the summer.  In August, we welcomed Rev. Wendy Bell as our Interim Minister.  We are looking forward to working with her as we begin our journey into the future.

In July, Parish Committee met to discuss what to do about our Parsonage, which is now empty as Rev. Wendy lives in Arlington.  How we use our Parsonage in the Interim period involves financial, tax and insurance implications as well as how we accomplish needed repairs to the house.  A small working group consisting of representatives from Parish, Buildings and Grounds and Finance, was appointed to review all the issues and make a recommendation to Parish Committee.  Based on their recommendations, the Parish Committee voted in September to hire a caretaker to live in the building to take care of routine maintenance inside and outside and to keep the building from being left unoccupied.   We have hired a couple, Isabelle Holt and Ethan Hotchkiss, who will begin as caretakers in October.  Isabelle and Ethan are relocating to the Boston area from Maine to be near both of their families and to plan their next steps.    As caretakers, they will be able to look after the house as well as work with contractors who will be taking care of necessary repairs to get the house ready for more permanent residency.  The Parsonage working group has created a plan for how to assess and complete repairs necessary going forward.

This experience with the Parsonage, made me realize how much goes on behind the scenes in the life of this Parish and how many dedicated members are working to insure that our resources are well taken care of so that we can move forward with our mission and create a space of peace and find a way to live out our shared values.  Thank you to all who contribute their time and wisdom to committee work and to our wonderful staff who are truly unsung heroes! 

Sue Twombly, Chair, Parish Committee
Parish Committee Members:
Kristin Bray
Nick Haddad
Kate Hanson Plass
Jean Merkl-Gorman
Kelly Morton
Dia Warren

Parish Committee
Website | + posts

The church is governed by the Parish Committee, made up of seven members elected by the congregation at the Annual Meeting for a term of three years. The Parish Committee sets policy, hires staff, and manages the overall direction and business of the church.