We will be meeting our Ministerial Search coach on Sunday, March 1.  Lisa Anderson will be preaching at the service and will lead a meeting of the congregation about the Search process and the selection of the Search Committee right after the service.  We hope you are able to attend on Sunday.  Serving on the Search Committee is wonderful opportunity to participate in the process that will bring a new settled minister to First Parish and to represent the congregation’s hopes and dreams to potential candidates.  You will learn a lot about process and our congregation and will be offering a gift of your time and wisdom to all of us.  Please think seriously about whether you are interested or who you think would best represent First Parish well on this committee.  Later this spring, the Parish Committee will begin the process of selecting this important committee.  Four members will be elected by the congregation and three members will be appointed by the Parish Committee.   Come on Sunday to learn more or speak to Wendy about what is involved.

Part of a sense of belonging involves being “in the know”.  To this end, the Parish Committee has begun reviewing and locating (!) all of our policies.  Kate Hansen Plass is doing a wonderful job gathering and posting all policies on our website in a Governance page.  The Parish Council met a few weeks ago to review our committee descriptions so that they accurately reflect what our committees do.  The descriptions will be on our website as well as in our bylaws which are also located on the website.  The nominating committee consisting of Bob Shay, Chuck Dickinson and Martha Pederson are getting ready to staff committees for next year.  Joining a committee is a wonderful way to get to know some folks better and to help shape our programs and carry out our mission.

There are lots of opportunities to jump in and participate in helping First Parish continue to be an important and meaningful presence in the lives of so many.  Join us!

Sue Twombly, for the Parish Committee
Kristin Bray
Nick Haddad
Kate Hanson Plass
Jean Merkl-Gorman
Kelly Morton
Dia Warren


Parish Committee
Website | + posts

The church is governed by the Parish Committee, made up of seven members elected by the congregation at the Annual Meeting for a term of three years. The Parish Committee sets policy, hires staff, and manages the overall direction and business of the church.