First Parish of Watertown is one of the oldest parishes in America. It was gathered in 1630 as a Puritan congregation, and continues to follow the independent and democratic Congregational system, where there is no hierarchy and each congregation calls its own minister, controls its own finances and property, and establishes its own criteria for membership.  The Bylaws of the First Parish of Watertown, approved by the members of the congregation, establish our rules of governance. Today we are governed by a Parish Committee and the work of the church is carried out by a number of program committees.




Parish Committee

The church is governed by the Parish Committee, made up of seven members elected by the congregation at the Annual Meeting for a term of three years.  The Parish Committee sets policy, hires staff, and manages the overall direction and business of the church.

2024-2025 Parish Committee

Norah Mulvaney-Day, Chair
John Portz
Kelly Morton
Sue Sours
Missy Shay
Martha Pedersen
Matt Calabro, Treasurer, ex-officio
Kate Hanson Plass, Clerk, ex-officio
Rev. Sophia Lyons, Minister, ex-officio

Update from the Parish Committee – May 2024

Greetings from the Parish Committee!  This new church year brings a few changes to the Parish Committee. The Chair is now Norah Mulvaney-Day, and we have added the new position of Vice-Chair to provide leadership support, which will be held by John Portz. New members...

“Grappling with our History” panel February 25th

As a next step in our congregation’s ongoing efforts to understand our complex history and determine actions to guide our way forward, the Parish Committee will sponsor a panel after service on Feb. 25. The panel is entitled “Grappling with our History: Lessons to be...

From the Parish Committee – May 26th, 2023

It’s the last week of May and the summer changes of the church year approach! The annual May Pot Luck dinner and Talent show was a wonderful joyous celebration! It was full of inspiring poems, amazing magic tricks, stories, songs, music and the fabulous FPW Choir and...

From the Parish Committee – April 28th, 2023

Greetings from Parish Committee! This past Sunday was our 392nd Annual Meeting. The meeting was a wonderful celebration of this past year! Here are just a few of the highlights: Nominating committee reported that 66 members of the congregation are serving on our many...

Save the date for the 392nd FPW Annual Meeting!

Sunday, April 23, shortly following the Sunday service the 392nd FPW Annual meeting will be held. Yes, our history continues with you as an essential part it! The meeting will be held in person in the sanctuary, and there will be a zoom option that will have on line...

Weekly Reflection – Parish Committee, February 24th, 2023

Greetings from the Parish Committee One area of reflection at our last quarterly Parish Council meeting was thinking about how we live our shared ministry through participation in committee work.  We raised questions for reflection as we make decisions about our...


The Trustees of First Parish are responsible for the wellbeing and preservation of the three trust funds that make up the church’s endowment. These funds are the Ministerial Fund, which was established in 1812, the Perpetuity Fund, established in 1929, and the Helen Robinson Wright Fund, established in 1995. While the Ministerial Fund was established by an act of the General Court of the Commonwealth (i.e. the House of Representatives and the Senate) and funded as part of the separation of local governments from the dominant church in each community, the Perpetuity Fund and the Helen Robinson Wright Fund were entirely funded through the generosity of First Parish members who left money to the church in their wills.

Income from the Ministerial Fund and the Perpetuity Fund are used to support the parish’s operating budget, while the Wright Fund is used exclusively for charitable purposes in the broader community.

As part of our congregation’s commitment to social justice, our Trustees work with a Socially Responsible Investing (SRI) firm to manage our endowment funds.

The Trustees also work to increase the size of First Parish’s endowments through the encouragement of members of the congregation to provide for the church in their wills and estate plans.


Elected members of the congregation fill the offices of Clerk, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, Historian, and Moderator of meetings.

Parish Council

The Parish Council is an advisory body, comprised of the chairs of the church committees and chaired by the minister.  The Parish Council works to form a shared vision and goals for the church and coordinates the work of program committees.

Congregational Meetings

In line with our fifth principle – “the right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and society at large” – the members of First Parish elect officers, Trustees, and members of Parish Committee at the Annual Meeting each April.  Members of First Parish also vote to approve an annual budget and extraordinary expenses, amend the bylaws, and call a minister.